

Clinton Presidential Library

1200 President Clinton Avenue Little Rock, AR 72201

Inventory for FOIA Request 2009-0835-F AV

Video Recording of the Science and Technology Medal Ceremony on September 30, 1993

Extent

One betacam video recording reviewed and processed.

Access

Collection is open to all researchers. Access to Clinton Presidential Records is governed by the Presidential Records Act (PRA) (44 USC 2201) and the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) (5 USC 552 as amended) and therefore records may be restricted in whole or in part in accordance with legal exemptions.

Copyright

Video recordings in this collection that were prepared by officials of the United States government as part of their official duties are in the public domain. Researchers are advised to consult the copyright law of the United States (17 USC 101), which governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material.

Provenance

Official records of William Jefferson Clinton's presidency are housed at the Clinton Presidential Library and administered by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) under the provisions of the Presidential Records Act (PRA).

Processed by

Staff Archivist, 2009

Scope and Content

The material in FOIA 2009-0835-F are a selective, not necessarily all inclusive, body of documents responsive to the topic of the FOIA. Researchers should consult the archivist about related materials.

FOIA request 2009-0835-F includes one selected master tape video recording from the White House Television Office.

President Clinton and Vice President Gore present Presidential Science and Technology medals to award winners on the South grounds of the White House. President Clinton and Vice President Gore make brief remarks at the ceremony. The recipients of the National Medal of Science for 1993 are: Daniel Nathans and Salome G. Waelsch, Biological Sciences; Donald J. Cram, Norman Hackerman, Chemistry; Alfred Y. Cho, Engineering; Martin D. Kruskal, Mathematics; Val L. Fitch, and Vera C. Rubin, Physical Sciences. The recipients of the National Medal of Technology for 1993 are: Walter L. Robb, Advanced Manufacturing Technology; Amos E. Joel, Jr., William H. Joyce, George Levitt &

Marinus Los, Kenneth H. Olsen, General Product and Process Innovation; Hans W. Liepmann, Human Resource Development; George Kozmetsky, and William D. Manly, Technology Transfer.

The approximate running time of this event is 17 minutes.

System of Arrangement

Records that were responsive to this FOIA request were found in one collection area and one series—Clinton Presidential Records: Video Recordings of the White House Television Office, and the series therein—Video Recordings Relating to the Clinton Administration. Processing is done at the Folder/Video tape level.

The following list is the videotape recording processed in response to FOIA 2009-0835-F:

Clinton Presidential Records: Video Recordings of the White House Television Office

Series: Video Recordings Relating to the Clinton Administration

Master Tape #01222 September 30, 1993